My Grandpa

October 26, 2012

Spending the last moments with my grandpa was a sweet and memorable time. We shared plenty of smiles, laughs, and tears together as he’s ready to meet his Maker and Saviour.

As his mind and body begin to shut down, he was able to articulate his faith in Christ, his Saviour and Redeemer.

I will always remember him as a sweet and gentle grandfather who received so many compliments from strangers about how adorable he was, who confused waitresses when they asked, “What can I get you to drink?” and he would reply, “Whatever.” (They couldn’t understand why he wouldn’t commit to telling them what he wanted to drink so he was brought ‘whatever’), who constantly gave me Gevalia coffee, who answered the phone and responded to the question, “So, what are you up to grandpa?” with, “Oh, I’m about 5’6″ or so.”, and who would always end our conversation with, “Carry on!”

I was extremely blessed to have known him for so long, even though I didn’t have a deeper relationship with him.

As I sat in the rocking chair next to him, while he laid comfortably in bed, I couldn’t help thinking that, if the Lord allows me, to have a lengthy life like his and to be at peace about leaving this earthly realm. I was was so encouraged.

As our time began to come to an end, knowing that this wasn’t a permanent separation, he told me that he loved me and he was very proud of me. (I didn’t break down and cry in front of him, but as I write this I’m balling my eyes out–I think that it’s all just hitting me now.). As he said those extremely meaningful words, he closed his eyes (I mean his one good eye) and I said I loved him and then I closed the door allowing him to rest.

During my time with him, I was able to read him a passage from the Bible in which he was so grateful and pleased to know that he is counted as a servant in the Lord’s ‘boy scouts’ forever.

Revelation 22:3-5
“No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and his servants will worship him.
They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads.
And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever.”

I look forward to reuniting with him one day in the presence of the Lord, where the both of us will worship together forever and ever.

Gratefully His-

Leave a Reply

